Albert O. Hirschman Prize, Presented by the Social Science Research Council

Albert O. Hirschman Prize of the Social Science Research Council

The Social Science Research Council is now accepting nominations for the 2016 prize. Nominations should be submitted to and include:

  • » Information on the nominator
  • » A brief statement of commendation
  • » The nominee’s curriculum vitae, or links to the nominee’s website

Please submit your nominations by June 15, 2016.

The Albert O. Hirschman Prize is the highest award of the Social Science Research Council. It recognizes academic excellence in international, interdisciplinary social science research, theory, and public communication, in the tradition of German-born American economist Albert Hirschman.

The prize recognizes Albert Hirschman's pioneering role in contemporary social science and public policy as well as his lifelong commitment to international economic development. Exploring theory and practice, the history of ideas—economic, social, or political—and innovative approaches to fostering growth, Hirschman saw scholarship both as a tool for social change and as an inherent value in a world in need of better understanding. He wrote in ways that help social science effectively inform public affairs. His work stands as an exemplar of the necessary knowledge that the SSRC seeks to develop and the interdisciplinary and international approach that it champions.

The recipient of the prize will normally deliver the Albert O. Hirschman Prize Lecture at a public colloquium with the lecture to be published by the SSRC. Previous recipients of the prize include Dani Rodrik of Harvard, the late Charles Tilly of Columbia, and Benedict Anderson of Cornell.

Announcing the 2014/15 Albert O. Hirschman Prize Recipients

The Social Science Research Council names the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL), Abhijit Banerjee, and Esther Duflo as the recipients of the 2014/15 Albert O. Hirschman Prize. Read the Statement of Commendation.

Benedict Anderson wins 2011 Albert O. Hirschman Prize

The Social Science Research Council has named Benedict Anderson the recipient of the 2011 Albert O. Hirschman Prize. Read a Statement of Commendation and essays on Anderson by Robin Blackburn, Charles Hirschman, Dédé Oetomo, Anthony Reid, and Saya S. Shiraishi.

A Celebration of the Life and Works of Charles Tilly

On October 3–5, 2008, the Social Science Research Council and Columbia University hosted an award ceremony and conference in honor of 2008 prize recipient Charles Tilly.

One Economics, Many Recipes: What We Have Learned Since Albert Hirschman

Hirschman Prize recipient Dani Rodrik, Rafiq Hariri professor of International Political Economy at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government, delivered the Inaugural Hirschman Prize Lecture on November 1, 2007 at the Princeton Club in New York City.