Albert O. Hirschman Prize, Presented by the Social Science Research Council

Call for Nominations

Nomination Procedure

The Albert O. Hirschman Prize is awarded annually to a single recipient. Send a letter (by e-mail or post) to the SSRC President, Craig Calhoun, indicating the person you are nominating for the prize. Please note that this letter should support the nomination by highlighting the nominee's outstanding contributions to international, interdisciplinary social science research, theory, and public communication. Also be sure to attach a copy of the nominee's current CV.

NOTE: Unsuccessful nominations are automatically rolled over to the year that follows—there is no need to submit nominating information two years in a row.

Selection Procedure

Each year, the President appoints a committee of three current or former SSRC Board members to review all the nominations received. Typically, the winner is announced in April of the year for which the award is made, while the lecture is held in autumn.

The 2011 Selection Committee includes Professors Edward Glaeser (Harvard), Margaret Levi (Washington), and Barbara Stallings (Brown).

Deadline for Nominations

The deadline for nominations is April 1, 2012.

Send a nominating letter directly to Craig Calhoun, SSRC President, at, or by mail at the following address:

Craig Calhoun, President
The Social Science Research Council
1 Pierrepont Plaza, 15th Floor
300 Cadman Plaza West
Brooklyn, NY 11201