Albert O. Hirschman Prize, Presented by the Social Science Research Council

Hirschman Prize Recipients

Benedict Anderson


Charles Tilly, 2008 Prize Recipient

At the time of his death on April 29, 2008, Charles Tilly was the Joseph L. Buttenwieser Professor of Social Science at Columbia University.

Charles Tilly

“I am a long-time admirer of Albert Hirschman, which makes this a great honor.”


Dani Rodrik, 2007 Prize Recipient

Dani Rodrik is the Rafiq Hariri Professor of International Political Economy at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government.

Dani Rodrik

“Albert Hirschman’s playful mind, unmatched erudition, and innumerable contributions to social science have long been an inspiration in my own work.”