Negotiating Agreement in Congress Research Grants, Selection Committee Meeting

Brooklyn, NY

On November 17-18, the Anxiety of Democracy program's 2016 Negotiating Agreement in Congress Research Grants Selection Committee convened at the Council’s headquarters in Brooklyn to nominate finalists for this first year of a two-year pilot program, generously funded by The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation’s Madison Initiative.

Building on the recommendations of the American Political Science Association’s 2013 Task Force on Negotiating Agreement in Politics, Negotiating Agreement in Congress Research Grants are designed to inspire a diverse cohort of researchers to explore various dimensions of political negotiation through interdisciplinary scholarship. Each grant recipient is awarded up to $10,000 of funding for up to one year of research and writing.

The 2016 Selection Committee comprised the following members:

Jane Mansbridge, Chair
Charles F. Adams Professor of Political Leadership and Democratic Values, Harvard Kennedy School

Sarah Binder
Professor of Political Science, George Washington University
Senior Fellow in Governance Studies, Brookings Institution

Frances Lee
Professor of Government and Politics, University of Maryland

Kerry L. Haynie
Associate Professor of Political Science and African & African American Studies, Duke University
Director, Center for the Study of Race, Ethnicity and Gender in the Social Sciences (REGSS)

Nolan McCarty
Susan Dod Brown Professor of Politics and Public Affairs, Princeton University
Chair, Department of Politics, Princeton University

Christopher Parker
Professor of Political Science, University of Washington  

Awardees will be announced on December 12, 2016.