Negotiating Agreement in Congress Selection Committee Meeting 2017

, 9:00am –

Building on the recommendations of the American Political Science Association’s 2013 Task Force on Negotiating Agreement in Politics, Negotiating Agreement in Congress Research Grants provide funding to a cohort of researchers with diverse backgrounds and sets of expertise. The ultimate goal of the initiative is twofold: to inspire a new generation of legislative negotiation scholars, and to create research with practical implications for policymakers.

Each grant recipient is awarded up to $10,000 of funding for up to one year of research and writing.

This initiative is possible due to generous support from The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation’s Madison Initiative.

The 2017 Selection Committee comprised the following members:

Jane Mansbridge, Chair
Charles F. Adams Professor of Political Leadership and Democratic Values, Harvard Kennedy School

Sarah Binder
Professor of Political Science, George Washington University
Senior Fellow in Governance Studies, Brookings Institution

Kerry L. Haynie
Associate Professor of Political Science and African & African American Studies, Duke University
Director, Center for the Study of Race, Ethnicity and Gender in the Social Sciences (REGSS)

Frances Lee
Professor of Government and Politics, University of Maryland

Nolan McCarty
Susan Dod Brown Professor of Politics and Public Affairs, Princeton University
Chair, Department of Politics, Princeton University

Christopher Parker
Professor of Political Science, University of Washington