The SSRC Fellow initiative invites distinguished scholars to the Council to strengthen research and programming in the areas in which we currently work or aspire to work. The program, established in 2019 with inaugural SSRC Fellow Lorraine Daston, broadens the thematic purview of the Democracy Fellow program, which has recognized Pierre Rosanvallon, Charles Taylor, and Danielle Allen.

The 2020 SSRC Fellow, Professor Aihwa Ong, was in virtual residency at the Council on September 23–25, 2020, during which she will led seminars and delivered a public lecture entitled ”Near-Humans, Cloned Monkeys, & CRISPR Babies: Productive Uncertainty in China’s Quest for Biosecurity.”



Back to top