The Social Science Research Council’s Just Tech program is grateful to the expert advisors and leaders who have collaborated to conceive, design, and help build the Just Tech Fellowship. 

2019 Just Tech Fellowship Steering Committee

Sareeta Amrute
Ruha Benjamin
Meredith Broussard
Simone Browne
Joy Buolamwini
Stephanie Dinkins
Sorelle Friedler
Alexandra Givens

Moritz Hardt
William Isaac
Jason Edward Lewis
Brandeis Marshall
Yeshimabeit (Yeshi) Milner
Alondra Nelson
Safiya Umoja Noble
Diana Nucera

Desmond Patton
Dorothy Roberts
Hannah Sassaman
Latanya Sweeney
Meredith Whittaker
Maya Wiley

The idea of a new model of fellowship to support leaders at the intersection of technology and social justice was first conceived by a committee of field leaders convened by the Ford and MacArthur Foundations in 2019. The committee was tasked with coalescing an emergent strategy to support emerging and existing field leaders in a moment of crisis and upheaval, and to expand the field and build pathways for collaboration. Artist and researcher Mimi Ọnụọha played a pivotal role in guiding the committee’s work and developing the new fellowship model that would become the Just Tech Fellowship.

2020-2021 Just Tech Planning Committee

Hector Amaya
Sareeta Amrute
Alex Gil

William Isaac
Jessica Marie Johnson
Karrie Karahalios

Diana Nucera
Suresh Venkatasubramanian

When the Social Science Research Council became the home for the fellowship and built its Just Tech program, it convened a group of advisors to ensure continuity in program design and implementation in line with the Council’s mission.