Fellows & Grantees

Dr. J. O. Arowosegbe

Residential Postdoctoral Fellowships 2015
Project Title
Ethnic Minorities and the Land Conflicts in South–Western Nigeria
Institutional Affiliation (at time of award)
Department of Political Science, University of Ibadan


Dr. Jeremiah O. Arowosegbe is a Senior Lecturer in Political Science at the University of Ibadan, Ibadan, Nigeria. His areas of research interest and teaching specialization include African Development, African Intellectual History, and African Studies, as well as African Politics, African Political Thought, Political Theory, and Political Thought, respectively. He has held visiting academic appointments and positions as A. C. Jordan Fellow of African Studies at the University of Cape Town, South Africa (2013-2014); Andrew W. Mellon Fellow of the Humanities at the University of the Western Cape, South Africa (2010-2011); Guest Researcher at the Nordic Africa Institute, Uppsala, Sweden (2008); Visiting Fellow at the African Studies Centre, University of Leiden, the Netherlands (2008); and SEPHIS Fellow of the Humanities and the Social Sciences at the Centre for Studies in Social Sciences Calcutta, India (2006-2007). In 2015, he was a Residential Postdoctoral Fellow of the Social Science Research Council’s African Peacebuilding Network at the West African Research Centre, Dakar, Senegal, and the Institute of African Studies of Columbia University, New York, United States of America. He is a 2017 recipient of an APN Book Manuscript Completion grant, for which he is currently finalizing his manuscript, Ethnic Minorities and Land Conflicts in South-Western Nigeria.