The Just Tech Fellowship selection process has been designed with fairness and accountability as primary objectives. With this fellowship, the Just Tech program is working to bring new voices and perspectives into conversation, maximizing impact and avenues of collaboration across fields and practices.

To ensure rigorous review from multiple perspectives, applications for the 2022 Just Tech Fellowship were evaluated across multiple rounds of review by two cross-sector panels of experts. Just Tech is grateful to our Evaluators and Selection Committee for their efforts and expertise.

2022 External Evaluators

Sarah Aoun
Chief Technologist, Open Technology Fund

Burcu Baykurt
Assistant Professor, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Héctor Beltrán
Assistant Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ingrid Burrington
Freelance Journalist and Artist

Tara Conley
Assistant Professor, Montclair State University

Roderic Crooks
Assistant Professor, University of California – Irvine

Mark Díaz
Research Scientist, Ethical AI at Google

Maxwell Foxman
Assistant Professor, University of Oregon

Amelia Gibson
Associate Professor, University of North Carolina

Daniel Kahn Gillmor
Senior Staff Technologist, American Civil Liberties Union

April Glaser
Investigative Journalist, NBC News

Terra Graziani
Researcher and Organizer, Anti-Eviction Mapping Project

Alex Hanna
Director of Research, Distributed AI Research Institute (DAIR)

Karen Hao
Senior Reporter, MIT Technology Review

Rachel Kuo
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill

Crystal Lee
Senior Fellow, Responsible Computer Science, Mozilla

Tommy Martinez
Technologist and Composer

Alice Emily Marwick
Associate Professor, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill

Jacquelyn Mason
Director of Programs, Media Democracy Fund 

Surya Mattu
Senior Reporter, The Markup

Jasmine McNealy
Associate Professor, University of Florida

Michelle Miller
Co-Founder and Co-Executive Director,

Jumana Musa 
Director, National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers

Wilneida Negrón
Co-Founder, Startups & Society Initiative

Aiha Nguyen
Program Director, Data and Society

Toussaint Nothias
Associate Director of Research, Digital Civil Society Lab at Stanford University

Vanessa Rhinesmith
Executive Director, Center for Critical Internet Inquiry at University of California – Los Angeles

Topher Sanders
Senior Reporter, ProPublica

Dorothy Santos
Executive Director, Processing Foundation

Hannah Sassaman
Policy Director, Movement Alliance Project

Seeta Peña Gangadharan
Associate Professor, London School of Economics

Catherine Knight Steele
Assistant Professor, University of Maryland – College Park

Wesley Taylor
Assistant Professor, Virginia Commonwealth University

Harlan Yu
Executive Director, Upturn Inc.

2022 Selection Committee Members

Lydia X.Z. Brown
Policy Counsel for Disability Rights and Algorithmic Fairness, Privacy & Data Project, Center for Democracy & Technology

Rumman Chowdhury
Director of Machine Learning Ethics, Transparency, and Accountability,  Twitter

Joan Donovan
Research Director, Shorenstein Center, Harvard University

Alex Gil
Senior Lecturer and Associate Research Faculty in Digital Humanities, Yale University

Sharad Goel
Professor, Harvard University

Charlton McIlwain
Professor and Vice Provost for Faculty Engagement and Development , New York University

Dan O’Sullivan
ITP Chair and Associate Dean for Emerging Media, New York University

Desmond Patton
Associate Professor, Founding Director of SAFElab, Columbia University

Nabiha Syed
CEO, The Markup