The Sloan Scholars Mentoring Network (SSMN) is a multi-pronged program serving the Sloan Scholar community through a strategic mix of professional development, mentoring, networking and leadership training opportunities. The SSMN combines access to needed internal and external resources with the broad wealth of Sloan Scholar expertise and experience to support the attainment of career and leadership goals.

Since 1995, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation has been providing support for underrepresented minorities through its Minority PhD and Sloan Indigenous Graduate Partnership programs, programs that aim to increase the diversity of higher education in STEM fields. Although these efforts have increased the number of underrepresented minorities in the STEM fields by over 900 Sloan Scholars, more work can and should be done in order to promote the professional development of these scholars post PhD and to create a robust network of Sloan Scholars who collaborate with each other professionally and foster a passion for mentoring peers and junior associates within the network of Sloan Scholars, within their home institutions, and within their fields.

In partnership with the Sloan Foundation, the SSRC will develop the SSMN to:

  1. increase the numbers and status of underrepresented populations in the academy,
  2. establish a Sloan Scholars brand that raises the public profile and prestige of the MPHD program for the benefit of the scholars and,
  3. strengthen a Sloan Scholar community committed to mentorship, as well as identifying and nurturing leaders to foster more inclusive and supportive cultures within academic institutions.

Opportunities and Activities

With the generous support of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, the 2021 Sloan Scholars Mentoring Network Grants competition aims to address some of the unique challenges posed to researchers during this unprecedented time.


Karin Block
City University of New York (CUNY)
Steven Damo
Fisk University
Renetta Garrison Tull
University of California / Davis
Erick C. Jones
University of Texas / Arlington
Ulises Miguel Ricoy
Northern New Mexico College
Cristina Villalobos
University of Texas / Rio Grande Valley
Darryl Williams
Franklin Institute