The Social Science Research Council is proud to announce that Dr. Mario Small will be the inaugural SSRC Katznelson Fellow

The Social Science Research Council is proud to announce that Dr. Mario Small is the inaugural SSRC Katznelson Fellow. Named in honor of former SSRC president Ira Katznelson, this annual fellowship recognizes distinguished scholars whose research, pedagogy, and writing exemplify innovation and boundary crossing in the social sciences. Small will deliver the first annual SSRC Katznelson Lecture on September 23, 2022.  

Mario L. Small, PhD, is Quetelet Professor of Social Science at Columbia University. A University of Bremen Excellence Chair, and an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Academy of Political and Social Sciences, and the Sociological Research Association, Small has published award-winning articles and books on urban inequality, personal networks, and the relationship between qualitative and quantitative methods. His books include Villa Victoria: The Transformation of Social Capital in a Boston Barrio and Unanticipated Gains: Origins of Network Inequality in Everyday Life, both of which received the C. Wright Mills Award for Best Book. His latest book, Someone To Talk To: How Networks Matter in Practice, recipient of the James Coleman Best Book Award among other honors, examines how people decide whom in their network to turn to when seeking a confidant. Small is currently studying the relationship between networks and decision-making, the ability of large-scale data to answer critical questions about urban inequality, and the relation between qualitative and quantitative methods.

The SSRC Katznelson Fellowship is part of the SSRC Fellow initiative, which invites distinguished scholars to the Council to strengthen research and programming in the areas in which we currently work or aspire to work. Previous fellows include Pratap Bhanu Mehta, Aihwa Ong, Lorraine Daston, Pierre Rosanvallon, Charles Taylor, and Danielle Allen.