The SSRC Fellow initiative invites distinguished scholars to the Council to strengthen research and programming in the areas in which we currently work or aspire to work. Most recently, the SSRC hosted Dr. Pratap Bhanu Mehta as its 2021 fellow. Established in 2019 with inaugural SSRC Fellow Lorraine Daston, the SSRC Fellow program broadens the thematic purview of the Democracy Fellow program, which has recognized Pierre Rosanvallon, Charles Taylor, Danielle Allen, and Aihwa Ong.

The inaugural SSRC Katznelson Fellow is Dr. Mario Small. Named in honor of former SSRC president Ira Katznelson, the annual Katznelson Fellowship recognizes distinguished scholars whose research, pedagogy, and writing exemplify innovation and boundary crossing in the social sciences. Dr. Small will deliver the SSRC Katznelson Lecture on September 23, 2022.