Awarded every two years, the Hirschman Prize is the highest honor of the Social Science Research Council. It recognizes excellence in social and behavioral science in the tradition of Albert O. Hirschman’s pioneering research.

The recipient of the 2020 Hirschman Prize was James Scott, Sterling Professor of Political Science, professor of anthropology, and codirector of the Agrarian Studies Program at Yale University. Professor Scott presented the Albert O. Hirschman Lecture, entitled “In Praise of Floods,” at a virtual award ceremony on December 4, 2020.

Past recipients include Dani RodrikCharles TillyBenedict AndersonAbhijit Banerjee, Esther DufloAmartya Sen, and Sheila Jasanoff

The SSRC is now accepting nominations for the 2022 Hirschman Prize. Nominations should be submitted via this form and should include a letter of nomination and the nominee’s curriculum vitae. Please submit your nominations by February 28, 2022.